CREW NoVA New Member Spotlight: Mia Gentry

May 15, 2019
Written by: CREW Northern Virginia

Mia Gentry, Research Analyst
Cushman & Wakefield


Describe your current position.
I’m a research analyst at Cushman & Wakefield. My primary roles include assisting landlord and tenant rep brokers, collecting and analyzing market information, and writing the quarterly reports at the end of each quarter.
 
Describe your career history (years of experience, previous employment, etc.).
I graduated from High Point University in December and started working in February, so I do not have any prior work experience, but I am eager to learn more about the industry.
 
What attracted you to CREW NoVA?
CREW caught my interest when I was invited to an event by a coworker and had a good time… I started to talk to other women in the field who are members or know of CREW and they all had only positive things to say so I knew I had to join.
 
Name a woman that inspires you and why.
I find Karlie Kloss really inspiring. I come from a science and math background in school and have always done a lot of community outreach, so I find it extremely impressive that she taught herself how to code and is now using her fame and influence to teach other young girls how to code and recruit them into the STEM fields. Another woman who really inspires is my mom (cliché I know) but she played a huge role in me wanting to go into commercial real estate since I watched her and went to work with her while growing up and saw how hard she worked both in the office and at home, so it seemed only natural to try to follow in her footsteps.
 
Tell us about your family.
I have two brothers- one younger and one older by a few years. Us three kids are all adopted which has been really cool being able to say growing up, but it has also brought a unique dynamic in my house since we are all naturally so different that I think a lot of people don’t get to experience. Both of my parents’ jobs require math and a very analytical mindset which they somehow managed to pass onto me… maybe because it was the only kind of homework they were ever able to help me with? We are a very outdoorsy family, love to hike, ski, and camp. We also love trying new restaurants, going to wineries / breweries, and hanging out with our dogs… my parents have two- a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and a Springer Spaniel and I have a Pit/Lab I rescued my junior year of college (and he has not calmed down since).
 
Fun fact
I ride horses.